even a small light is a light

“You are the light of the world.”

That is what we are called to be – light. Light that penetrates the darkness, light that reveals what was once hidden, light that draws others to its Source.

Many people picture light as a warm, bright campfire; or as a lighthouse on the black ocean; or a spotlight piercing the midnight sky; or the sun, lighting the earth at dawn. All of these are wonderful examples of light, and make a world of difference when they are exposed to the dark. However, a small candle in a dark house, or a spark in the woods in the dead of night, is also a light, and accomplishes the same purpose as the lighthouse.

As a younger person, I can get discouraged when I see how the Lord is working through the adults around me, and how insignificant my feeble attempts to serve the Lord seem. Sometimes I struggle to see my place; sometimes I feel useless, standing in the audience as one of the leaders shares the Gospel with so many people. And many times I have watched those around me, my peers, having a good time as they please themselves, while I am trying to please the Lord and do the opposite.

“Behold, these are the ungodly, who are always at ease; they increase in riches. Surely I have cleansed my heart in vain, and washed my hands in innocence.” 

I know I’m not the only one who has felt this way. I know that all over the world are young people, who, just like me, are seeking to serve the Lord and to walk worthy of our calling. I know there are many of us who are trying to be a lighthouse to those around us, and get disheartened when we can’t do what the “big shots” do. So I have embarked on a mission: to remind my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ (and myself in the process) not to despise our youth. Whether we recognize it or not, even one small candle in a dark house can make a world of difference.

6 thoughts on “even a small light is a light

Leave a Reply

