prayer

We are in a battle. Not against men, but against the spiritual realm of wickedness. We are soldiers in the army of the King of kings and He has given us the task to fight. And He has also given us weapons to use in our warfare.

Ephesians 6 describes our armor: the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the sandals of the gospel, the shield of faith, and the helmet of salvation. Then we have two weapons: the sword of the spirit which is the Word of God, and one other in verse 18 that we don’t really notice. Prayer.

Prayer is powerful.

In Acts 12, Peter was put in prison by Herod, but when constant prayer was offered to God by the church, God sent an angel to miraculously bring Peter out of prison.

In 2 Chronicles 20, Jehoshaphat and the children of Israel fasted and prayed that God would defeat their enemies, and He did. Their enemies turned on each other and Judah returned triumphant.

And Daniel! Daniel prayed that God would show him King Nebuchadnezzar’s dream and its interpretation, and God did. Three times a day, Daniel set aside time to talk to God, and for that, he was thrown into a den of hungry lions. God shut the mouths of the lions, and Daniel was pulled out the next day, without one scratch.

In the story of Esther, she and her people prayed for three days. They asked the Lord to give Esther courage to risk her life and face the king. God gave it to her, and in this way, Esther was able to save her people from annihilation.

There are many more stories like these in the Bible. God’s people cry out in prayer to Him, and He does mighty works and shows His justice and power and love and faithfulness.

There is so much to learn and to say about prayer. It is so amazing, and it is such an important part of our relationship with our Father. And it is a powerful weapon that, I’m sorry and ashamed to say, we, as Christ’s bride, underestimate and therefore underuse. We don’t spend nearly enough time in prayer.

This isn’t just a post about prayer. I would like to write more on this subject, and I have been challenged and convicted a lot lately regarding this incredible topic; in fact, it feels like a weighty responsibility to me, just writing and sharing about it, because this is a serious battle, my friends. But as I said, this isn’t just about prayer. This is an invitation to join me in prayer. I have spoken to men and women and kids like me who have given their lives to serve Christ, whether here in the United States or in another country. They have needs, but over and over they have told me that more than any physical thing we can send, they need prayer. Prayer is their most valuable resource. Prayer is our most valuable resource. Because God can provide whatever we need, physical and spiritual, and prayer is how we beseech Him. Because in prayer, we can join in their ministry. Because in prayer, we are united with our brothers and sisters whom we have never met in this life, and we can march forward with them in this battle, following our living leader, our King, who died for us.

I know, prayer takes time. Prayer takes commitment. Prayer takes effort. But if He gave His perfect life, we can give Him our time. If He is in heaven interceding for us and building mansions for us, we can give Him commitment. If it took effort for Him to go to the cross, so much that He sweat drops of blood, we can give Him effort.

So how can you join me? Well, this category on my blog will be devoted to prayer. Lord willing, I will share what I have been learning about and through prayer, and I will also be sharing prayer requests from people around the world who are serving our Lord. Although I would love to get requests from other teens specifically, there are so many adults serving the Lord also who would value every prayer. We can be part of their ministry by praying for them.

This is not something I am telling anyone to do, because I am certainly not in charge of your life. But I do want to ask you to do this. Because it is important. Because it is powerful. Because it is our weapon.

Because we are in a battle, my friends.

5 thoughts on “prayer

  1. Such a well-timed post for me, in multiple ways! I was literally just discussing 2 Chronicles 20 with a friend, as well as just rethinking my prayer life this morning. God used this in my heart. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad the Lord used this in your life, Sara! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have heard songs, watched movie scenes, even heard speeches that send tingles down my spine, but it is a very rare case indeed where the reading of an article or post is capable of doing so. This was one of those rare cases. I am experiencing the power in prayer in my life as the prayers of years past are coming true: God is working on my prayer life. I have asked and asked that He would show me how to pray consistently, how to take up this opportunity to better acquaint myself with the living God, and in the last couple weeks, I have seen God trying to break down the barrier between where I am now and a better relationship with him. Just this morning we had a prayer meeting, and all the men there were burdened to pray more as individuals, including me, then I came home and read this post! I feel God moving, working in my life, but I always have thought of prayer as most inconvenient, always placing works as higher priority. This post addressed that issue, It was not convenient for Christ to die, yet he did, and so shall I do this much littler but still big thing: pray!
    Thanks Esther!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s so neat to hear, Micah! Keep seeking Christ, and pray on! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close